Share with other HPE Professionals!

From Jaimie McMullen – C&I SIG Chair

The Curriculum and Instruction Special Interest Group (C&I SIG) is excited to welcome you to the 2021 SHAPE America Virtual Convention! We will be hosting two special sessions during the convention and hope that you can make time to join us.

On Tuesday, April 13th at 4:00pm (EST) we will be hosting the annual C&I SIG Awards Presentation, Scholar Lecture & Forum. During this session we will be honoring the 2020 C&I SIG award winners – Dr. Darla Castelli (2020 Curriculum and Instruction Honor Award) and Dr. Luciana Zuest (2020 Helen M. Heitmann Young Scholar). We will also honor and hear from the 2021 Helen M. Heitmann Young Scholar award recipient, Dr. Langston Clark who will provide an overview of his research interests as they relate to curriculum and instruction. This year’s Scholar Lecture is presented by Dr. Jennifer L. Walton-Fisette who will provide a must-hear account of the need for research on social justice with her lecture titled “Social Justice in Physical Education: Not a Choice, Our Collective Responsibility.” The Scholar Lecture will be followed by some live Q&A!

Next, on Wednesday, April 14th at 2:00pm (EST) the C&I SIG will host a Lunch & Learn session titled “Connection and Collaboration: Current Issues in C&I” – during which we are seeking members to join our esteemed panel of researchers who will discuss and answer questions about current issues in curriculum and instruction research, specifically, the following topics will be explored: recruitment and retention, social justice, and physical education in the (post) COVID-19 era. This live panel discussion will be hosted by the Curriculum and Instruction Special Interest Group (C&I SIG). This session will be in a Q&A format, so come prepared to ask your questions and engage in collaborative discussion. Our panelists represent a diverse group of scholars from various career stages, including: Xiaoping Fan (Doctoral Candidate, University of Northern Colorado), Chad Killian (Assistant Professor, Georgia State University), Emily Jones (Associate Professor, Illinois State University), Cory Dixon (Assistant Professor, Rowan University), Korey Boyd (Assistant Professor, Springfield College) and Jennifer Walton-Fisette (Full Professor, Kent State University).

Lastly, it is my honor to thank Dr. Karen Gaudreault for her years of service to the leadership of the C&I SIG and to welcome Dr. Langston Clark (incoming Chair) and Dr. Victoria Shiver (incoming Chair-Elect) who will serve alongside me (Dr. Jaimie McMullen – Past-Chair) this year. We look forward to serving the members of the C&I SIG and SHAPE America for the 2021/22 year

Recommend0 recommendationsPublished in Uncategorized